Analogies

the tailgater

I was driving on Orange Blossom Trail one afternoon and, as usual, it was quite the hustle. With a string of traffic lights, everyone is trying to get an all-lights-green ride.

I tend to mind my business when I drive. 9.2 out of 10 times I am dancing and/or singing shamelessly in my car. Yet it didn’t take long to notice the car tailgating me in a desperate manner. With no other lane unoccupied and the desire to live, I decided to pick up the speed and go over 5 miles the limit.

This did not satisfy the tailgater and they persisted on driving dangerously fast and close to my car. I put down the music and grabbed the wheel with both hands. I tried to focus on making a fast-and-furious move, however I ended up missing my street only to find that my tailgater made a turn shortly after. Needless to say, I was a bit low on the patience and high on the annoyed now that I had to take extra time to turnaround and get to my destination.

“Carolina, the enemy is like a tailgating car. He pressures you to fall into potholes, go above the speed limit and lose focus; only to make a sharp turn behind you, leave you off your course and taking the long way home. He is only after your fall. Nothing less.” – Holy Spirit

The first thing I did was lower the music. When a bad circumstance hits us, notice that a lot of times the first thing we put away is our praise and replace it with worry. We enter fix-it mode and strive to make it change. The enemy pushes us just enough to take us off the path the Lord has set out for us.

When you feel the enemy’s car tailgating on yours, pump up the praise and stay focused on the Lord. Jesus always shows up.

 “I will extol the Lord at all times;
    his praise will always be on my lips.
 I will glory in the Lord;
    let the afflicted hear and rejoice.
 Glorify the Lord with me;
    let us exalt his name together.

 I sought the Lord, and he answered me;
    he delivered me from all my fears.
 Those who look to him are radiant;
    their faces are never covered with shame.
This poor man called, and the Lord heard him;
    he saved him out of all his troubles.
 The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him,
    and he delivers them.”

Psalm 34: 1-7

Leave a comment